When searching for the cheapest North Carolina auto insurance rates it is important to keep in mind the state minimums. In North Carolina, there is required state minimum insurance car insurance coverage that is required of ALL drivers. The law requires you to carry liability coverage limits of at least 30/60/25. This means:
- $30,000 bodily injury coverage per individual injured in an accident
- $60,000 bodily injury coverage per accident in total
- $25,000 property damage coverage per accident
Most people realize that these limits are very low and do not provide adequate protection. Therefore they look for more extensive coverage, but that also means a higher price. If you are looking for good coverage, but also cheap rates on your NC auto insurance policy, you will find the following tips helpful.
- Shop around carefully and get a variety of quotes from different insurers who are licensed to do business in North Carolina.
- Compare not just prices, but coverage and the stability of the company.
- Increase the deductibles on collision and comprehensive insurance coverage to achieve lower premiums.
- Ask agents about the discounts the insurer offers and if you have all that you can possibly get.
- Keep your driving record blemish free.
- Take driver training to eliminate demerit points and for better rates for new or much older drivers.
- Maintain a good credit score and pay all of your bills on time.
- Maintain a good insurance record, without gaps in coverage or too many claims.
- Check how much it will cost to insure a car before you buy it. Some cars are much pricier to cover than others.
- Check about discounts for payment in full or for choosing certain types of payment plans. Paying interest on car insurance payments is counterproductive to finding cheap rates.